College Profile

About Us

Our College was established in July 1909. Prior to the establishment of this Institution the teaching of Law used to be imparted in Patna College. Till 1917 the College was affiliated to Calcutta University .When Patna University came into existence in 1917, it became affiliated to it. Up to 1st January, 1952, Patna Law College was a Government institution and functioned as an independent unit. From that date it became a constituent college of Patna University under the Patna University Act. 1951.This Centre of higher education, which is exclusively devoted to legal education, has the privilege of producing two Chief Justices of India, namely, Hon’ble Mr. Justice B.P. Sinha and Hon’ble Mr. Justice L.M. Sharma.

The First Attorney General of India from the State of Bihar Sri Lal Narain Sinha was also an alumni of this college. A galaxy of Supreme Court and High Court judges, jurists, eminent advocates, reputed academicians, able administrators. and innumerable towering personalities adorning very high and coveted chairs in various walks of life. The College has equally contributed in the field of politics of Bihar as well as India. Some of the prominent politicians who is the alumni of this college is Sri Lalu Prasad Yadav former chief minister of bihar, Sri Sushil Kumar Modi presently he is the dupty chief minister of Bihar , Mr. Ravishankar Prasad, presently he is the central Law Minister of India. But presently Bar council of India adopted a policy to affiliate Law colleges for Three Years at Once after incpection this policy applicable to college to India. The College, which has been enjoying permanent affiliation by the Bar Council of India, imparts instructions as per the updated syllabi prescribed by the Bar Council of India for Three-year Law Course leading to LL.B Degree of the Patna University. The students are awarded Law Degree after successful completion of the six semester Law Examinations in three different parts (LL.B. Part I. Part II and Part III) conducted by the Patna University Examination Section. Drawing students and faculty from across Bihar India , the college has emerged as a symbol of excellence and integrity.


  • Establishment Date - 01st July, 1909
  • College was made a Constituent Unit of Calcutta University, West Bengal - July, 1909
  • When Patna University, Patna, Bihar came into existence it came under this varsity. - Oct, 1917
  • UGC Recognized under UGC section 2(f) & 12(B)

Important Link